Eunice / Reflections

Run Forrest Run!

Becs and I have been jet-setting and are finally both back in one country. We thought it about time to share some Lenten encouragement all around. 40 days and we’re at day 21. We have just past the halfway point ladies & gents. In a marathon this is the point where I think most people are about to yell ‘ONLY?! dfajdkhfajhdfjh!’ before giving up and falling to the curb OR buckling down and giving the next kilometres their ALL. We hope know you can be the latter.

If you’ve been slacking for the past 20 days, you’re not alone.

If you need some ideas to run even harder, we’re sharing our ideas here.

I was eager to not let this year be like last year and I remember being so moved by Becs’ decision to completely forgo makeup for 40 days AND shave her head! What a wild woman!

In the past weeks I’ve been seriously touched by friends who have flown to the moon for Jesus. There’s my friend who has decided to affirm one person each day. On the first day of Lent, he sent me a beautiful mini-letter about my better qualities. There’s nothing like being affirmed just cause. Another friend has given up eating out. I’m not sure what I would do with all my time. Or my lack of money. Joking, kind of. Others are doing without facebook. Imagine all the free time I’d have with that commitment!

This year, I really tried to think hard about what I needed to grow in in my faith journey and my personal relationship with the Lord. I’ve decided on two main commitments:

1. Not reading blogs (not to be confused with blogging if you’re wondering why I’m here)

2. Writing down 5 things I am grateful for each day

I love reading blogs. It has been a part of my daily routine – as routine as checking emails. Though it’s brought me much joy to discover and be inspired by what others are doing across the world, I’ve also often ended up comparing myself to the men and women who share out there. I’ve struggled with comparison. And y’all know what they say about comparison.

tumblr_mirs7t9YBb1qj2nbto1_1280

It has led me to be ungrateful for what I do have which is ABUNDANCE. What I thought were two different commitments actually go hand in hand perfectly. This past 20 days, I’ve realized how much I do have. I’ve taken my eyes off of the ‘others’ and re-focused onto my race. Of course there are days I go to bed and completely forget to thank Him, but then I just wake up and thank Him doubly. It’s becoming easier to think of things to thank Him for because there really is so much I should have been thankful for all along. Anndddd, it’s easier to run when you’re really just focused on your own experience rather than that of the hundreds of others running beside you.

And let us run with perseverance the race that is set before us.

- Hebrews 12:1

Picture 2

Your feet hurt because you are kicking butt. So keep running friends!

May you run like Forrest,

E

P.S. Some more ideas from the LIFETEEN site. I especially love #7.

Leave a Reply

