Eunice / Reflections

Gratitude Pt.1

It is hard to believe that 15 weeks have passed and our Impact mission in Ottawa has ended. Our days here are now filled with saying final, often tear-filled goodbyes to the people who have become family to each of us. We came as 57 university students each searching, and found in abundance, more than we expected. When I think of all the amazing things that have happened in this city in such a short amount of time, I am filled with more gratitude than sadness at leaving. And, when I look at how much each of us has grown, I am filled with hope that forgets the sadness of goodbyes.

My housemate reminded me of this saying: “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.” – Dr.Seuss

I thank the Lord for pursuing each of us to this point. I thank Him for transforming each of you before my very eyes. I thank Him for the parishes He prepared for us, and the people that took us into their homes as their family. For the glory stories that filled each and every day on mission, I thank you. For the people who challenged us and the crosses we each bore, thank you. For the people He has entrusted to us here and the people He has entrusted to us at home, thank you.

If you are feeling down, make your prayer one of gratitude for the day you have before you.

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.

– Melody Beattie

And to my fellow Impacters, “I do not cease to give thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers.” – Ephesians 1:16

God Bless,

Eunice

Our last formation on Champlain Point looking out over Quebec and Parliament. Photocredit: Julia Bolzon

Leave a Reply

