Becca / Faith / Reflections

Gratitude Pt.2

I have been home for just over a week now and it has been so nice to reconnect with family and friends before heading out East once again. The many visits I have made over these last few days have meant that I’ve had many opportunities to share how I have grown this summer on IMPACT!

We all learned so much from each other as we lived in community in the Glebe. Each and every missionary had different strengths and skill sets, talents and passions, and lived out their faith in very unique and inspiring ways. Looking back I realize how much I learned about the lives of the saints. Through the examples of my fellow missionaries, I came to understand how invaluable they are as models for those of us who are still pilgrims. I am extremely grateful for this.

There are two saints in particular whose examples and intercession have helped me to grow in holiness and mission this summer. On two separate occasions I was given biographical novels about their lives by individuals I hardly knew. These books have allowed me to partake in the joy and adventure that were the lives of these two Spanish saints. Both Saint Francis Xavier and Saint Teresa of Avila lived lives of complete abandonment to the Lord. They had absolutely everything that one could ever want at their fingertips and yet when they came to know Him in an intimate way and understand how much He desired to use them, there was nothing they wanted more than to build His kingdom. They gave up all of the worldly things which we clamour over today in order to do just that.

Carrying these books around with me all summer, sharing in their adventures in faith, has made me so curious to know what the Lord has planned for my life if I give Him free reign. I am so grateful for the summer we shared and for the opportunity to encounter His heart in a more profound way, but most of all I am grateful for the adventures in faith that the Father has in store for all of us in the weeks and months and years to come. Saint Francis Xavier and Saint Teresa of Avila, pray for us.

Another great thing I learned about this summer while living in community is this amazing Polish snack. It sounds weird, I know, but trust me when I say it is delicious!

Kasia’s Strawberries and Cream 

  • A bowl of strawberries
  • 1 tbsp of sour cream
  • 1 tsp white sugar

Slice your fresh strawberries and add sour cream and sugar to taste. Mix and enjoy-which you will, promise!

Becca

Leave a Reply

