Eunice / Faith / Reflections

Can you tell?

We must love God back, passionately! Through the other. We must love our neighbor, not only as ourselves but with the heart of God. Christ said to his disciples, “By this shall men know that you are my disciples, that you love one another as I have loved you.” To love with the heart of God, we must empty ourselves totally of self, to allow Christ to love through us.

– Catherine Doherty

I think of the many interactions I have with other people each and every day. If you took each one – my interaction with a friend, with a classmate, with the stranger on the street – would you be able to tell that I am Christ’s hands and feet?

After this past summer, I still love many of the same things – learning about business + leadership, running, yoga, food (namely peanut butter), and being in the hands of good company – but I know I have changed.  I wonder though, if my interactions, to others, really appear that different? Sure, my life has changed, but has how I love others changed?

It is an enormous task to love each person you encounter each day with the love of Him who loved us first. Giving up peanut butter forever would be easier than this. Yet if our deepest identity as Catholic men and women is to bring others to know Christ, then we have failed as Catholics if we do not step up to the task. It’s hard to hear I know. Even as I write, I’m realizing the enormity of the task.

I think that asking yourself, “Can you tell?” is a good place to start.

“By this shall men know that you are my disciples, that you love one another as I have loved you.”

With you in prayer,

E

Leave a Reply

