Becca / Reflections

Get Growing

I spent some time at my local farmers’ market yesterday. It’s always such a great experience with so many opportunities to learn!

Photo cred: the wonderful Claire Sexton

There are bakers, artists, and lots of farmers selling their beautiful organic produce–not to mention the best deep-fried bananas you’ll ever try! I came across this quote the other day and it really reminded me how sacred everything that grows really is:

Little flower, but if I could understand, what you are, root and all in all, I should know what God and man is.

-Alfred, Lord Tennyson

The secrets of our intimate, awe-inspiring relationship with our God are hidden all around us, from the seeds of life to their blossoms! While I don’t have much of a green-thumb myself (yet…), I love learning about new ways to grow things and digging in the dirt-even when it’s in pots on the windowsill of my apartment. Eating local foods and participating in the production of our food also helps to reduce carbon emissions, boost our local economies, foster a sense of community, and unite us with our brothers and sisters around the world who are also growing. Check out Development and Peace’s backgrounder to learn more about eating locally and how it has a global impact!

It’s so easy to pick up some local foods or purchase some seedlings to create a window garden. To find a market near you and get in touch with your dirty side, check out Farmers’ Markets Canada.

Peace,

Becca

Leave a Reply

