Eunice

A New Song

Jesus you are here in this moment. Beside me moment by moment with your hand to guide me and your very heart outpoured for me.

I can’t believe that another Impact has come to a close! 1 city, 15 weeks, 57 passionate, Christ-centred, inspiring young people, hundreds of glory stories and lives changed and here I sit. Alone. I can’t help but feel a little deflated saying what feels like too many goodbyes to men and women who have guided me and loved me over the past months. It feels like I have lived here in Halifax my whole life. It feels like I have always known these people. How my heart aches for this to be the rest of my life. I long to move back into our home on Larch with my larch ladies – long to hear their voices in the halls and laugh with them after morning prayer at 5:30 in the morning.

BUT, God does not leave us in our sadness. He is there more present than ever.

My team on our final day at our parish, Canadian Martyrs

I have been told that we are most vulnerable to spiritual attack after a mission/ retreat when we’re on this spiritual high. I believe it now. I’m feeling exhausted, a little lost, and sad to be saying goodbye. It almost feels harder saying goodbye this second time since it feels like I’m saying goodbye to two Impacts.

Here, in this moment of shifting, change, realizing that nothing is forever except Jesus and all his promises…perhaps you can relate. If things are shifting in your life, if you are moving cities, countries…if you have no idea what your next steps are, Jesus wants to speak TRUTH into your heart. FEAR NOT. Press into Him. He has a PLAN FOR YOUR LIFE. How we never tire of being reminded, how we NEED to be reminded every single morning that HIS PLAN IS BEYOND OUR WILDEST DREAMS. Let Him speak truth to your heart – it is a message of great hope for your life.

TRUTH #1: He gives so we can give also.

I have been given this crazy, amazing summer so that I can go home and share it with others. How I long for my family and friends who don’t know Jesus in this same way to know what He has done for me and for those I have met here in Halifax. He loves us and wants good things for our life. He showers us with blessings and how selfish it would be of me to want this to last forever when I know people in my life who so desperately need the Lord. He fills me up so I can overflow with love FOR OTHERS, not for myself.

TRUTH #2: We have so much to look forward to.

Another Impacter said this to me on the night of our final banquet and something in the way she said it to me, has struck me and stayed on my heart. How much joy it gave us this summer to see others come to know Him. How we celebrated and rejoiced when someone came to mass for the first time ever, when someone went to confession for the first time in years, when a coworker agreed to take a faith study…and how this same joy awaits us at home. These same stories are waiting to be had by our friends and family at home. How much more joy we will have for they are those closest to our hearts – the ones we are perhaps scared of evangelizing.

Jesus doesn’t stop there. For perhaps the first time in my life, heaven feels so real. Heaven awaits us. We do have so much to look forward to! As I looked around at my fellow Impacters at the final banquet, I actually felt as though we were in heaven and it was this great reunion. If we truly knew in our hearts what awaited us, wouldn’t it be impossible to be Catholic and to a) not be joyful/ optimistic about this life and b) not desire this same hope for others in our lives??

The theme of this summer has been, “Behold, I make all things new.” He has made my heart new. Mission is over, but He is not done working in and through my heart. The true mission of life has only just begun. He is continuing to make my heart new each and every day.

Before mission began, a dear friend gave me this verse to guide me…”The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty saviour; He will rejoice over you with gladness, and renew you in his love.” – Zephaniah 3:17

He longs to RENEW YOU IN HIS LOVE.

Whatever the change may be, the shift, He is waiting to hold you through it. He is longing to renew you. It may be painful – think of it like a pruning of branches for better things to come to renew you and make you new so you can bear even more fruit.

Sing a new song 🙂

I’ll definitely be posting more about Impact and upcoming travels with the parents through New York, New York and Washington DC. Posts to come upon return to Vancouver.

With you in prayer,

E

3 thoughts on “A New Song

  1. ❤ ❤ ❤ LOVE THIS. So beautiful. You write with such wisdom. HS is all over the place here. 😉
    And of course, I love you Eunice!

Leave a Reply

