Becca / Faith

Living Prayerfully: On early mornings and Mother T

I was really touched by Eun’s post on Monday about how Mother Teresa would get up so early in the morning to pray and set the tone for her whole day. It spoke to me because since joining the StFX Rowing Team this fall, I’ve been getting up at all hours of the early morning to drive out to the lake. It reminded me to set my alarm a little earlier (4:30am?) and spend time with the God that loves me.

MT’s writing on prayer is beautiful in its simplicity and piety. If you ever get a chance to read some of her work I highly recommend it. She wrote;

“I don’t think there is anyone who needs God’s help and grace as much as I do. Sometimes I feel so helpless and weak. I think that is why God uses me. Because I cannot depend on my own strength, I rely on Him twenty-four hours a day. If the day had even more hours, then I would need His help and grace during those hours as well. All of us must cling to God through prayer.”

Bam! She’s the first to admit that all of the compassion and patience and love she shared with the world was of God. Can you imagine what this earth would be like if we all lived out of that space?

Click to preview the eBook through Barnes & Noble

But you’re not a morning person? No worries. You can just as easily carve out time at your lunch break or in the evenings. Just make sure you let God fill you and work through you!

One thought on “Living Prayerfully: On early mornings and Mother T

  1. Such a simple but beautiful reminder. ‘Spend time with the God that loves me.’ Feeling inspired by these words today…thanks girls xo

Leave a Reply

