Eunice

Living Prayerfully: When you don’t feel like it

5 weeks ago, we started our Living Prayerfully Series. I had wild plans to dedicate myself to hours of prayer time with the Lord in the mornings and well, it just hasn’t happened. I also had plans to finish my last post of the series on a high note; plans to share all the crazy revelations I’ve had in the past weeks. Those crazy revelations haven’t happened either.

I’ve been showing up – Teary eyed, sleepy eyed, bright eyed. Sometimes it is just me and the legendary Vancouver rain is louder than the Lord’s voice. I’m reading books about how great prayer is…

“Prayer is this deep dialogue with the One who is the source of our lives…Authentic prayer gives birth to authentic personhood because when we know ourselves in God, we know ourselves as God created us – without pretense.”

– Ilia Delio

I want to agree Ilia Delio, but I don’t always have these intense, deep dialogues. Most of the time, my prayer sounds closer to the title of an old Judy Blume book, Are you there God, it’s me Margaret Eunice.

Catherine Doherty (y’all know how I feel about this woman) wrote that most of the time our prayer won’t be the way we want it. It’s okay. If Catherine, the model of a prayerful woman, wrote this, then you can be assured it’s okay.

When I don’t feel like showing up…

When I walk through doubt and wonder, what’s the point..

When blog posts are harder to write; the words just don’t flow…

In all these moments, I keep going.

A song for your prayer. Isn’t this all we’re really saying in prayer?

I’m cheering for you too,

E

Rejoice in hope, be patient in suffering, persevere in prayer.” Romans 12:12

“With all prayer and supplication, pray at every opportunity in the Spirit.” Ephesians 6:18

“Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God.” Philippians 4:6

“Devote yourselves to prayer.” Colossians 4:2

Leave a Reply

