Reflections

A Year of Nothing New

shop (1)

A New Kind of Goal-Setting (but other than that, nothing new here!) A couple years ago, we blogged about the infamous ‘Stop-doing list‘. Instead of setting a bunch of goals, Jim Collins, an admired writer and business leader, suggests creating a list of things you will stop doing. With the goal of trying to live simply and be more Christ-like in the amount of stuff we own, we, the ladies of F&PB are vowing to not buy any new clothes or jewelry/accessories for one whole year. Join us.

#NothingNewYear

ebd2986eed71c5259f397a268c7361fe

THE WHY B: How is this going to allow us to grow personally and spiritually? I read this story once as recounted by Mother Teresa:

“Not so long ago a very wealthy Hindu lady came to see me. She sat down and told me, “I would like to share in your work.” In India, more and more people like her are offering to help. I said, “That is fine.” The poor woman had a weakness that she confessed to me. “I love elegant saris,” she said. Indeed, she had on a very expensive sari that probably cost around eight hundred rupees. Mine cost only eight rupees. Hers cost one hundred times more. Then I asked the Virgin Mary to help me give an adequate answer to her question of how she could share in our work. It occurred to me to say to her, “I would start with the saris. The next time you go to buy one, instead of paying eight hundred rupees, buy one that costs five hundred. Then with the extra three hundred rupees, buy saris for the poor.” The good woman now wears 100-rupee saris, and that is because I have asked her not to buy cheaper ones. She has confessed to me that this has changed her life. She now knows what it means to share. That woman assures me that she has received more than what she has given.”

///

B: There are countless other reasons to join us. Purchasing only second hand items will not only contribute to a smaller carbon footprint, provide opportunities for creativity, but we can also use it as an opportunity for giving more and spending less on ourselves. E: I found over the course of this year, especially after witnessing the poverty and simplicity of India, I grew restless in how much I owned. I would feel a tremendous amount of guilt each time I bought new clothing I didn’t really need. I was very aware of the times I turned to shopping when stressed or down. And I wrestled with the account of Jesus telling the rich man in Matthew 19 who felt he was doing everything else demanded of a Christian.

“All of these I have done. What do I still lack?”

Jesus said, “If you wish to be perfect, go and sell all that you have and give to the poor.”

THE WHAT So what will this actually look like? It doesn’t necessarily mean we have to wear cheap or unattractive clothing—if we need a beautiful dress we could borrow from a friend or check out upscale consignment shops—but we will also be conscious of not buying more than we need. Here are some ground rules we will be following: 1. Nothing New: It goes without saying we won’t be buying any new clothing, accessories, or jewelry. Second hand items from thrift shops and consignment stores are allowed but with a limit of $50. 2. Giving doubly: Each time we do buy second-hand clothes, we are committing to donating the same $$ we spend to a cause. 3. Exceptions must be made: Socks and undergarments are the exception! No seconding on this front. We’re looking at this as a fun challenge to be creative and of course, we’ll be holding each other accountable throughout the year. Follow us on Instagram (@rebeccaamcevoy, @eunicejacinta) if you want to see our misadventures in thrifting (this won’t be turning into a fashion blog, folks!) We’ll be using the hashtag #NothingNewYear and sharing throughout 2015.

We invite each of you to join us and journey with us.

Use the hashtag #NothingNewYear to join us in the conversation.

 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin.” // Matthew 6:25-28

Here’s to a year of realizing we have more than enough! Much love, B & E

Leave a Reply

